Jump to Navigation

News Releases

Bob Clarke Named to Rice Board of Trustees

May 11, 2006

HOUSTON (May 11, 2006) – Robert Clarke, senior partner in the Houston office of Bracewell & Giuliani LLP, has been named to Rice University's board of trustees for a four-year term beginning July 1.

While a student at Rice, Clarke served as an officer of Hanszen College and as president of the Student Association. A member of the Thresher staff, the Honor Council and the Army ROTC, Clarke was recognized an outstanding senior and a distinguished military student. He received the Hugh Scott Cameron Service Award, and in 1992 he was named a Distinguished Alumnus of Rice.

"Rice has some ambitious goals for the next several years," said Clarke. "I'm looking forward to the opportunity to help achieve them."

He was named along with Robert Tudor III, managing director of Goldman, Sachs and Co., and Robert Maxfield, a private investor and co-founder of ROLM Corporation.

Rice President David Leebron said, "I am very pleased with the additional strength and capability that the election of these trustees will add to the board as we enter an important phase in our planning for the future of Rice."

Clarke began his career at Bracewell in 1968 where his principal areas of practice included: assisting banks in the United States and abroad in matters involving state and federal banking laws, regulations and supervisory agencies, mergers & acquisitions of financial institutions, strategic planning, independent counsel to boards of directors, new financial services products, management of regulatory risk, and litigation support as an expert witness.

In 1985, Clarke was appointed as U.S. Comptroller of the Currency by President Ronald Reagan then reappointed by President George H.W. Bush. When Clarke's appointment as Comptroller ended, he rejoined Bracewell & Giuliani in 1992 as senior partner and head of the firm's financial services practice. Clarke received the Distinguished Service Award from the U.S. Department of the Treasury in 1992 and the Banking Leadership Award from the Western States School of Banking in 1993.

Others serving on the board during the new fiscal year along with Chairman Jim Crownover will be J.D. "Bucky" Allshouse, Kent Anderson, Teveia Rose Barnes, Vicki Whamond Bretthauer, Albert Chao, Edward Dominguez, Douglas Foshee, Susanne Morris Glasscock, Carl Isgren, Terry Koonce, Michael Lynch, Steven Miller and Kenneth Oshman.